Associations and organisations

NT Health Services 

Below are some of the health services and Aboriginal Medical Services in the Northern Territory. For more information on these Health Services please click on their name:

Northern Territory Government Department of Health (NT DoH)

Ampilatwatja Health Service 

Anyinginyi Health Aboriginal Corporation

Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory (AMSANT)

Central Australian Aboriginal Congress (CAAC) Aboriginal Corporation

Danila Dilba Health Service

Katherine West Health Board (KWHB) Aboriginal Corporation

Laynhapuy Homelands Aboriginal Corporation

Marthakal Homelands Health Service

Malabam Health Board Aboriginal Corporation 

Miwatj Health Service

Ngalkanbuy Health Service 

Pintupi Homelands Health Service Aboriginal Corporation 

Peppimenarti Health Clinic

Sunrise Health Service Aboriginal Corporation

Urapuntja Health Service Aboriginal Corporation 

Wurli Wurlinjang Health Service




The Australian College of Nursing (ACN), formally known as the Royal College of Nursing (RCNA) is national membership organisation and is the Australian member of the International Council of Nurses (ICN).

RCNA/ACN represents Nurses interests as well as offering professional certification and recognition of Continuing Professional Development (CPD). RAHC e-learning is recognised by the ACN/RCNA.

For more information about the RCNA/ACN please visit the RCNA/ACN website.



The Australian College of Remote and Rural Medicine (ACRRM) is one of two Australian colleges responsible for setting standards for General Practice.

GPs who meet the standards and requirements set by ACRRM are recognised as having Fellowship of ACRRM.  Fellows of ACRRM receive full vocational recognition for Medicare purposes. RAHC e-learning is recognised by ACRRM.

ACRRM also offers health professionals a number of face-to-face on online e-learning options especially relevant to practice in a remote setting.

To learn more about ACRRM or to register for ACRRM courses and events, please visit the ACRRM website.



The Australian Dental Association (ADA) is a membership based organisation representing dentists and promoting and dentistry in Australia.

The ADA determines dental policy and generates expert advice through the associations committees, as well as holding an annual conference

For more information, please visit the ADA website



The Australian Practice Nurses Association (APNA) is the peak body for nurses who work in Primary Health Care (PHC) including general practice.

APNA represents the interests of more than 3000 Practice Nurses from across Australia. APNA also provides members with a number of Professional Development (PD) opportunities including a suite of e-learning modules.

For more information about APNA or the APNA Online Learning program, please visit the APNA website.



The Central Australian Rural Practitioners Association (CARPA) is a voluntary organisation involved in primary health care education, training and support of rural and remote health practitioners of various specialities and experience levels.

CARPA is best known for producing the Standard Practice Manual, known as the CARPA manual, available for purchase as a hard cover or as a free PDF download.

For more information about CARPA or to obtain the manual, please visit the CARPA website.



RAHC is a corporate member of CRANAplus, the national health organisation committed to education, support and advocacy for all health professionals working in remote Australia.

This membership entitles RAHC Health Professionals to a discounted membership rate which entitles you to discounted course fees, regular updates and the quarterly CRANAplus magazine.

CRANAplus offers members valuable professional development (PD) options (face-to-face and e-learning) and support services all remote health professionals are encouraged to utilise.

For more information about CRANAplus courses, support, or how to join please visit the CRANAplus website.


The Centre for Remote Health

The Centre for Remote Health (CRH) is a joint centre of Flinders University and Charles Darwin University.

The CRH is located in Alice Springs, Northern Territory and the catchment area is Territory-wide and includes cross-border areas in South Australia and Western Australia.

A range of undergraduate, postgraduate and professional development courses are offered. Research programs are responsive to community and health service needs. CRH works in partnership with communities and organisations to enable research to be guided by community knowledge and end-user needs to improve access to services and to improve the health of people in remote regions of Australia.

For more information on the CRH please visit the CRH website.


Chronic Disease Network

The Chronic Diseases Network (CDN) is a consolidated group of people and organisations with an interest in reducing the rates of chronic conditions and their complications in the Northern Territory (NT).

CDN was set up in 1997 in response to the rising impact of chronic conditions in the NT and its existence is a crucial enabling factor for the ongoing implementation of the NT Chronic Conditions Prevention and Management 2010-2020 (NT CCPMS). The CDN encompasses a wide range of sectors and organisations in the NT and interstate and has in excess of 800 members across Australia. For more information please visit the Chronic Diseases Network (CDN) website.



The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP) is a peak body that represents over 19 000 General Practitioners (GPs) across Australia.

The RACGP Quality Improvement and Continuing Professional Development (QI&CPD) program is recognised by APRHA and Medicare to maintain professional certification. RAHC e-learning is recognised by the RACGP.

For more information about the RACGP, please visit the RACGP website.


Women's & Children's Healthcare Australasia

Women’s Healthcare Australasia is the peak body for hospitals and healthcare services caring for women and babies in Australia and New Zealand.  Its sister organisation, Children’s Healthcare Australasia is the equivalent peak body for children’s hospitals and paediatric units.

Both WHA and CHA strive to enhance the health and wellbeing of women and babies, or of children and young people respectively through supporting our members to achieve excellence in clinical care.  This is achieved through benchmarking performance with one another, facilitating extensive networking among clinical and executive leaders across our membership, delivering high quality, targeted education, and sharing information and expertise on successful innovative practices

For more information about WCHA please visit the WCHA website


Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)

The Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM) is a representative body for Indigenous nurses and midwives in Australia.
CATSINaM’s aim is to honour an holistic and culturally safe approach to achieving optimal health and wellbeing for Indigenous peoples and communities. Indigenous nurses and midwives play a pivotal and respected role in achieving health equality cross Australia’s health systems for the Indigenous people and communities.

For more information about CATSINaM please visit the CATSINaM website